Republic of Congo > Republic of Congo

Republic of Congo


General information.

Republic of Congo is the state, located in the western part of Equatorial Africa. It borders in the west with Gabon, in the north with Cameroon and Central African Republic, in the southeast with Democratic Republic of Congo, in the south with Angola (a province Cabinda). The territory area is 342 thousand In the southwest is washed by Atlantic ocean. Extent of a coastal line is 170 km. From the end of XIX-th century the country is a colony of France. They has found Independence on August, 15th, 1960.

The population is 3,5 million people. A mid-annual increase of population is 2,68 %. More than 50 % of inhabitants are younger than 20 years. Over 60 % of the population lives in cities. Largest of them – Brazzaville (apprx. 950 thousand) and Pointe-Noire (apprx. 530 thousand) where it is concentrated about 50 % of all population and 90 % of city dwellers of the country.


The basic religions.

More than half of population adheres traditional African beliefs. 60 % – Catholics, 25 % – Protestants, 15 % – adherents of various afro-Christian churches and sects are also about 1 million Christians, from which. 6 % of Congoleses practise Islam, also other religions.
Capital – Brazzaville. Administrative-territorial division – 11 departments (including capital), divided into 76 areas.
National holiday – Independence Day (August, 15th, 1960).
Official language – French, widespread national languages – lingala in the north of the country, monokutuba – in the south, etc.


State system.

The new constitution Republic of Congo have been accepted on January, 20th, 2002 on a national referendum, it has fixed in the country a presidential government with clear split of the authorities. Unlike the constitution of 1992 the president can not dismiss parliament, the parliament has not the right to declare a vote of no confidence to the government, and the government is formed by the president without dependence from the parliamentary majority.

The head of the state – the president is the central figure in system of the state institutes. It simultaneously is the head of the government and the chief executive (presides in Ministerial council), and also the commander-in-chief armed forces. The president is selected for seven years with possibility of re-election for one term. It is allocated by the right of the legislative initiative. Since October, 1997 president of ROC is D.Sassu-Ngesso (it is re-elected for new seven-year term in March, 2002).


Last Updated (Friday, 13 August 2010 10:36)